top of page

The Tears of That One Child

Updated: Feb 4, 2022



(This picture is used for illustration purposes only. No commercial value)


By Shaun Ng



It all started when my brother, James and I noticed something amiss about our parents after our older sister, Lucy and brother, John were "adopted."


Like most adults, both Father and Mother had been working hard and we never had the time to hang out. They would usually come back from work in the middle of the night.


My father was a lawyer and my mom operated a bakery shop. To most people, we seemed like a happy family alright, but the day when James was also to be taken away from me, it bothered me a lot what would happen to him.


It was like a part of my body was separated from me. I remember the tears I shed realizing that I would have to say goodbye to him. I know he was scared, but he managed to hold a brave front just to reassure me that he was ready to go.


My parents told my brother, “Once you turn 13 years old, it will be the best day of your life. You will be helping your little brother get a new play toy like the toy your older sister sent after she left us.”


Horrid Photos

“Oh, you mean the doll with a strange smell?” James muttered. I could sense from his voice that he was trembling within.

At first, we did not think much about it. We thought James was going to be adopted by someone but before he was sent off, he found a note with a few photographs on it. He showed it to me.


Their faces looked similar to ours, yet different. The first picture looked like my older sister, Lucy. It was a picture of her lying on the floor with no arms and legs and it looked like her body had been ripped apart. The second photograph looked like that of John, who was also "adopted" but his was only the upper side of his skull.


We were shocked but for almost one minute staring at it, we said nothing about it. Then, Dad came into the room, as if he was looking for something that had gone missing.

James took the pictures, hid them in his pocket and said, “Hello Dad, what’s the problem?”

Dad shook his head and, saying nothing, headed straight to his bed. He looked gloomy, or maybe, just exhausted. But, we knew something was desperately wrong. As we uncovered the mystery, adrenalin was pumped into our blood.


We rushed out of Dad’s room and hid in James' room. We had learnt that our older siblings had been sold off to doctors for their organs.


I vomited the more I thought about it! Not that loud to make a big fuss.


“Tomorrow's your day… What's going to happen to you?” I asked James.


My brother froze up on the spot. Not knowing how to react, James remained quiet for a while. "I am not going to let this happen to you!" I reassured him. "I am going to call the police."


I dialled the local police station. The phone rang but no one picked up the call. "I tell you my plan. We sneak out of the house and run to the taxi stop, grab a taxi to the nearest police station," I suggested.


James agreed. Just as we were about to sneak out of the house, Dad had found out that the pictures had gone missing. Mother was with him.


Realizing that we were about to escape, they gave a short chase. I threw a pebble I had in my hand at Mother, dashed right out the door heading towards the taxi stop.


However, Mother caught hold of James and grabbed his two arms by force. James tried to escape but Mother screamed. Father heard the sound and came running over.


I could hear James yelling out to me in an angry voice, “DO NOT LOOK BACK! RUN, RUN AS FAR AS YOU CAN!” James was overpowered, and he was immediately locked up in his room.


I ran across the street without looking back. Hopping straight into a waiting taxi, I asked the taxi driver to speed up on the way to the police station.


Shedding tears, I realised something bad was going to happen to James.


The moment I arrived at the police station, I found the cops. “What’s wrong, young man?” one of them asked.


Tears started to stream down both cheeks. Uncontrollably, I must add!


I told the cops what had happened to James. For some odd reasons, the cops believed in my story and hurried to my house. They had a few cases of missing young teenagers to solve.


They forced open the wooden door. My parents were handed a stack of US Dollar notes when they were arrested. The doctor who had James bound in ropes and gagged had paid my parents handsomely for my brother. He, too, was arrested by the police.


It turned out that the doctor and my parents were part of a cult that worshipped the cyborgs. The doctor was carrying out some experiments on humans. Putting human organs into a doll to make it move and talk like humans.


The End


81 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page