top of page
depthplayzofficial

Graduation Speech

Updated: Feb 27, 2021

By Jocelyn Yong

Good morning, ladies and gentlemen, my beloved teachers and fellow students.


I am delighted to be with you at this graduation ceremony today. I am especially humbled by the honour bestowed upon me to deliver this graduation speech on this memorable day. It is a way for me and us, my fellow graduates, to express my gratitude to all my teachers.


Let me kick off my speech by expressing our deepest and heartfelt gratitude to our teachers. The way they show us love, care and encouragement is “priceless.” It is our teachers who lead us to the journey of success.


Teachers are our foster parents who always put us above everything else. They are forever willing to sacrifice themselves just so that we become successful people in life. I feel very honoured to be able to stand here in front of all of you to thank our beloved teachers for their dedication and contribution over the years. Thank you, dear teachers, for standing with us whenever we need your guidance!


Right now, let me also put my beloved parents under the spotlight today as they have always been the backbone of our success. Family ties “snare” us in their loving webs and become the support network to catch us whenever we fall. They are the ones who support and encourage us to persevere, so that we will continue our race in chasing after our dreams. Whenever we fall and hurt our knees, they are there to bring some comfort. They reflect the true humanity of what people ought to be!


The journey to success is not always smooth-sailing; in reality, we have to endure a lot of hiccups. Our friends and schoolmates are the ones who give us encouragement when we experience bittersweet moments together. They always cheer us up during the gloomy days. They have always been the little angels who bring the sunshine into our hearts. Our childhood would surely not be so lively if not for them! I wish to thank all of you, my fellow schoolmates, for being my wonderful friends! May I now ask all of us to stand up and let us give them a round of applause and welcome them to the stage to share this honourable moment with me! (call them out by their names and invite them to the stage)


Lastly it is sad for me. I know I will truly miss every corner of my school. My classroom is a pot of knowledge that overwhelms me with the different valuable things that I have learnt in my school years. Besides, the school field that sprawls with green grass and wild plants, is where we run across the land of joyfulness and happiness with our peers. The green field which we call ‘padang’ is the place where the cool breeze blows off our hectic schedules and the glittering sunshine brings warmth to our hearts. Indeed, our school is a real paradise!


Graduation is not only the end of our secondary school life, but it is also a good beginning of a new phase of education life. In fact, education is a lifelong learning. It is never too old to learn anything!


Here, I would like to take this opportunity to wish all the best to our fellow graduates: Congratulations to all graduates! Hope you all have a bright future, “Wherever you go, go with all your heart!” Thank you everyone for lending me your ears.


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page