top of page

My Personal Impressions Interviewing Dr Chow Li Sze

By Leong Calvin (9 years old)

I am glad that I had the chance to interview Dr Chow through one of my creative writing lessons with Teacher Stephen Ng.


She is indeed a woman of courage, who never gives up pursuing what she thinks is right in the sight of God. Through her testimonies, I learned that staying close to God is very important especially during the difficult times in our lives.


During the Zoom interview, she shared her real-life emotional struggles after losing her beloved son and going through a broken marriage.


Although I have not read her book, “A Grieving Heart is Most Loved”, I am very sure that it is a book worth reading.


I will definitely find time to read her book. The book is easy to understand. It is a book that speaks to people who face different struggles in life.


I could feel Dr Chow’s motherly love for her deceased son, Zhen Khan. She shared how she had accompanied her son throughout the pain and suffering he was going through, battling against the liver disorder.


There were moments when she reminisced about the good times she had with Zhen Khan. After facing all the odds in her life with God’s strength, grace and wisdom, she was able to finish writing this book in 2019.



Her advice to us: “If you want to write a good book, it must be captivating, the storyline must be dramatic,interesting and capable of drawing attention from the readers.”


Being a first-time author, Dr Chow received her inspiration to write her story from God above. She really amazed me with her positive attitude.


“Everyone can be an author, just go for it!” she said. “This is her most powerful statement that really encourages me to learn to start writing. I began to realise the power of writing from this one example.”


Dr Chow is a godly woman who relies on God’s promises, believing that He will never leave her alone.


She shared with us her favourite Bible verses from Proverbs 3:5-7, which reads, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.”


Being a young boy myself, I may not be able to resonate with her feelings or experiences, but, I have learnt that God is real and in control of our lives.


Dr Chow is still trusting God, despite what happened. She stopped asking ‘’why’’. She always prayed to get everything sorted.


She does not blame God for the passing of her son. However, it is understandable that she still thinks of Zhen Khan occasionally, but this longing of hers seems to fade away when she knows that her beloved son is with the Heavenly Father above, who takes care of Zhen Khan over there.


Now, I can understand William Makepeace Thackeray’s saying: "Mother is the name for God in the lips and hearts of little children."


I see this evidently from our interview with Dr Chow and I am grateful that I also have a mother who always cherishes me just like the way Dr Chow does with her children.


159 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page