top of page

A Sneak Peek of Sunway University


Destiny, a statue made by Infantino Fernandes at Sunway University

By Tye Jayrel


Although Sunway University is so near to my home, yet my brother and I had never visited the university until recently when our creative writing class teacher, whom I affectionately call “Uncle Stephen” organised a campus tour.

A place near the library to do your assignments

When we arrived, the marketing director of the university greeted us and guided us around the place. The first place she brought us to was the library.


Also known as the Tun Hussein Onn Library, named after our third prime minister, the library was filled with many types of books. What impressed me was that these books even had their own categories such as Malaysiana, the Harvard Collection among others. .

The library which has thousands of books.

There are three levels. The moment we walked downstairs, we saw many tables for students to bring their devices to do their assignments. I saw some students doing essays, formal letters and more.


We were then taken to see the discussion rooms. There are nine rooms in total, all fully-equipped with tables, chairs, with a projector and a digital screen in each room. It was very exciting and interesting, I loved it!


I understand now why Uncle Stephen put us in Breakout rooms for group discussions, and why he wanted some of us to lead in discussions, while others participate. Everyone will have a chance to lead in a discussion.


The cafeteria named Brain Forest.

Next, she brought us to the cafeteria named Brain Forest. I thought the name was interesting, but then, this is a university; therefore, the name of the cafeteria did not surprise me. Here, there was a Starbucks.


What do you expect in the Brain Forest, but the status of a bird, where they use scrolls to replace the feathers of the bird. I thought it was simple but a beautiful and creative sculpture.


The lecture theatre at Sunway University

She even took us to a lecture theatre. Sadly, we had to use the smaller one because the bigger one was in use. It was interesting to watch a well-produced video about Sunway University before the Director of Pre-University Programmes went on to explain about the courses the students could join. This helps me to realise that there are so many programmes that I can choose from.


Although I have travelled to many countries, this was my first time visiting a university. My mom visited the university 10 years ago for a meeting. A lot has changed since then.


“It has changed drastically!” she told us. That's why I hope I will have a chance to study at Sunway University. This will be just another six years from now, which will pass very quickly.


(Tye Jayrel is 10 years old)

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page