top of page

My Maiden Trip to Sunway

By: Siddhanth Rameeswarran



Most people have heard of Sunway University and Sunway College, but few have visited the ginormous and beautiful university.


I was privileged to be part of a campus tour together with my Creative Writing class with Uncle Stephen.


The first thing that caught my attention was a piano that was playing all by itself! I was so shocked and scared that I thought a ghost or invisible man was playing it! But, I saw that there was a type of mechanism inside the clock which made it play by itself. Isn’t it fascinating?


After I met with Uncle Stephen and my friends, we were all led by one of the staff members who showed us the way to the Tun Hussein Onn library.


The moment I walked inside the library, I could feel the air blowing from the aircon. It was a bit chilly, but it was sustainable because there were three floors filled with books!


We were split into two groups and my group had a library guide to show us around.

We saw bookshelves arranged in alphabetical order, rooms for group discussions, tables with laptops and printers next to study ports, and silent zones! But my favourite of them all was the bookshelves because I was fascinated by the topics and how they arrange.

Next, we went to the canteen where they serve plenty of delicious food. My mouth all of a sudden got watery and savoury!


We only walked around the canteen for 15 minutes, so after that, we entered a lecture theatre for 5 minutes, before moving on to a corridor.


The corridor had a number of lecture theatres and shooting studios, along with the normal classrooms.


We then went to a ginormous lecture theatre where all the front row seats had Sunway souvenir bags. I immediately sat in the second row with a green bag in front of me. They also gave us a Pokka Green Tea and Seasons Soya Bean packet drink. I chose Green Tea because it is my favourite before laying down on the chair to relax.


They put a video on the screen about the college and after that a lecturer gave a briefing about the programmes. I could not fully understand what she was saying as I am only nine years old. So, when they let us ask questions, I wanted to ask a question but I was too shy. But at least, I get to experience what it is like sitting in a university lecture hall, where one day, I will be listening to my lecturers.


Shortly after the briefing session, we all said our byes. I had a great time at the college and yes, I wish to go there again!


(Sidd is nine years old this year)

189 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page